The International Advisory Board, the local Organizing Committee and the Italian EPR group, GIRSE, are pleased to thank all the partecipants to the Xth Conference of the European Federation of EPR groups (EFEPR) that was helded in Torino (Italy) in September 2016.

EFEPR is a non formal organization which gathers 14 national groups from European and extra-European Countries. EFEPR periodically organizes an international conference that covers the main aspects of Electron Paramagnetic Resonance spectroscopy, including new experimental and theoretical methodologies.

During the conference, the Ulderico Segre Prize (call for nominations is available at the following page) for an outstanding doctoral thesis in the field of magnetic resonance was awarded ex aequo by Dr Claudia E. Tait and Dr. George Cutsail.

The conference included the activities of the International EPR (ESR) Society with a specially allocated session.
The IES sponsored student awards for the best poster(s) presented at the Conference. Eligible candidates are graduate students and post docs (not later than 3 years after their PhD.). View the List of Former Student Poster Award winners.

The conference was opened on the evening of Sunday 4th September with a welcome reception and continued until Thursday 8th September with morning and afternoon sessions. The afternoon of Wednesday 7th September was devoted to social activities. The final program of the conference is available here.


The following topics were covered during the conference:
  • EPR of organic and inorganic systems
  • Advanced materials
  • Biophysical, biochemical and biomedical applications
  • DNP and emerging applications of EPR
  • Emerging techniques and methodologies
  • EPR Imaging and Microscopy
  • Spin Trapping and Spin Labeling Chemistry
  • Theoretical Chemistry and EPR